Opening hours: Closed Mondays and Tuesdays; open all other days, 11am-5pm.
Opened in the main town of the Copper District in 1962, the Museum of Copper has always specialised in the area of the mining, processing and use of non-ferrous metals. Called the Museum of Copper until 1975, it was later granted the status of a District Museum, but returned to its original name in 1996.
Despite the specific focus, the Museum's sections are varied. The Historical Section collects paintings, prints, photographs, postcards, maps and the like related to Legnica and other towns of Silesia, as well as crafts and architectural details dating from the thirteenth to the nineteenth century. The Archeological Section preserves objects of material culture from Legnica and the surrounding area ranging in date from the Stone Age to the Middle Ages, and boasts a rich collection of Medieval vessels. The Art Section contains decorative and applied arts exhibits made of copper and its alloys between the sixteenth and the twentieth century. On view are cult items and church furnishings as well as pewter exhibits; a collection of Polish and European eighteenth through twentieth century bronze sculpture; a collection of Polish and European copperplates, some of which are contemporary; sixteenth through twentieth century silver, including items awarded prizes at the National Jewellery Shows held in Legnica since 1980.
The collections are housed in the former palace of the Lubiaz abbots, built in 1728 and restored in 1963-9.
Permanent exhibitions: "Legnica: In ictu oculi"; "The 1241 Gallery" (works by Polish artists from 1945-92, inspired by the battle of Legnica); "The Lapidarium" - one of the largest collections of thirteenth to eighteenth century architectural detail in Lower Silesia.
ul. Partyzantów 3
Phone: (+48 76) 862 49 49
Phone/Fax: (+48 76) 862 02 89
Email: [email protected]