Content anchor

The Festival of Polish Composers

The Festival of Polish Composers, held annually under the auspices of Henryk Mikolaj Gorecki, first took place in 1996. Each of the Festival editions has been devoted to a specific composer: the first one to Gorecki, the second (1997) to Wojciech Kilar, the third (1998) to Stanislaw Moniuszko, the fourth (1999) to Frederick Chopin, the fifth (2000) to Karol Szymanowski, the sixth (2001) to Zygmunt Konieczny, Andrzej Kurylewicz and Zbigniew Preisner, the seventh (2002) to Mieczyslaw Karlowicz, the eighth (2003) again to Henryk Mikolaj Gorecki, the ninth (2004) to Witold Lutoslawski, the anniversary, tenth (2005) to Krzysztof Penderecki, and the eleventh (2006) to Henryk Wieniawski and Grazyna Bacewicz.

Anna Iwanicka-Nijakowska
Polish Music Information Center
Polish Composers' Union
August 2006


The 12th edition of the Festival will take place on October 4-6, 2007 and will be devoted to Jan Krenz (b. 1926) as a composer.

ul. Słowackiego 27
43-300 Bielsko-Biała
Phone: (+48 33) 828 16 45


Facebook Twitter Reddit Share